Easygui project shuts down

Effective March 6, 2013, I am shutting down the EasyGui project.

The EasyGui software will continue to be available at its current location, but I will no longer be supporting, maintaining, or enhancing it.

The reasons for this decision are personal, and not very interesting. I’m older now, and retired. I no longer do software development, in any programming language. I have other interests that I find more compelling. I spend time with my family. I play and promote petanque. Life is good, but it is different.

During the course of my software development career I’ve had occasion to shut down a number of projects. On every occasion when I turned over a project to a new owner, the results were disappointing. Consequently, I have decided to shut down the EasyGui project rather than to try to find a new owner for it.

The EasyGui software will remain frozen in its current state. I invite anyone who has the wish, the will, the energy, and the vision to continue to evolve EasyGui, to do so. Copy it, fork it, and make it the basis for your own new work.

— Steve Ferg, March 6, 2013
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Easygui project shuts down

  1. Hi Steve,

    thanks a lot for all your contributions to this project! And enjoy your “new time”!!

    All the best,
    Ralph

  2. Paul Childs says:

    Hey Steve,

    I would also like to thank you for sharing your project. I can tell you it has saved me a lot of time building scripts for end users.

    Cheers,
    Paul

  3. Juan says:

    EasyGui has been (and still is!) very useful to me. Thanks for your work and enjoy a well earned retirement. :-)

  4. afauno says:

    Thanks for your work anyway and good luck in petanque promoting in the us. We love this game in france! And perhaps EasyGUI will stay like a “jack” out there in the gui for python field.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for building this project. Enjoy greener pastures…

  6. chrisfs says:

    EasyGui has made my life easier. I thank you for it. Perhaps someone will update it for Python 3

    • Stephen Ferg says:

      The current version of easygui does run under Python 3. The only exception that I can think of is that under Py3 it cannot use PIL to display images, because PIL has never been updated to run under Py3.

      Over a year ago, before I stepped down from maintaining easygui, there was what looked like a strong effort to fork PIL to create a package that would run under Py3. I haven’t tracked the progress of that effort and I don’t know its current status.

Leave a Reply

